Flavours of Herriot Country Awards: flavoursofherriotcountry@outlook.com

Vote for your favourite business for the Darlington & Stockton Times Readers Choice Awards

Vote for your favourite business for the Darlington & Stockton Times Readers Choice Awards

FOOD and drink businesses have made it into the finals of a prestigious contest designed to celebrate the finest food businesses in the region. There have been a record number of entries from across Richmondshire and Hambleton to this year’s Flavours of Herriot Country Awards. Organisers of the awards, which are now in their sixth year, say there are very strong contenders across all 12 categories.

The awards are judged by an independent panel of leading food and drink experts, headed by chair of judges, Susie Brindley. The awards continue to champion young chefs in the industry with its Young Professional Chef of the Year category which will be judged by Kevin Hughes, Swinton Estate’s Cookery School chef.

The Swinton Estate, near Masham, is offering its cookery school kitchens for the judging of young chef finalists, where the chefs will produce their dishes.

Susie Brindley said “We were delighted to see a record number of entries for the awards this year, but amazed not only at the quantity but also the outstanding quality.

“We are so fortunate to have such a diverse spectrum of wonderful food producers, retailers and establishments in Herriot country.

“It makes the judging process so difficult but also an honour. Congratulations to all of the finalists this year.”

The Flavours of Herriot Country awards are supported and sponsored by some businesses in the region, including North Yorkshire County Council, the principal supporter, Welcome to Yorkshire and Hambleton District Council.

The awards will be presented by BBC Radio York presenter, Elly Fiorentini, and will be held on Friday, December 1, at The Garden Rooms, Tennants, Leyburn, 11am to 2.30pm. There will be a drinks reception and sharing platters of Yorkshire Fayre.

This year the entertainment will be provided by Jake Walsh, known affectionately as Gingerotti, who has released a debut album, ‘Jacob Walsh. Yorkshire Tenor’.

Tickets for the awards event are £20 each, and tables of ten can also be booked by online at Eventbrite by visiting; HERE



To vote for your favourite by phone, dial 0901 151 followed by the four numbers printed after your choice. To vote by Text, send your text to 80360 starting with HERRIOT leave a space, followed by the four digits printed after your choice.



Breakfast of the Year, sponsored by Yorkshire True Tours

  • Springhouse Farm Shop, Scruton, Near Bedale 0265
  • The Joiners Shop, Ingleby Cross, Northallerton 0266
  • Lister’s Farm Shop, Boroughbridge 0267
  • Lewis and Cooper, Northallerton 0268

Tearoom of the Year, sponsored by The Garden Rooms

  • The Rusty Bike Café, Swainby, Northallerton 0269
  • Mill Race Teashop. Leyburn 0270
  • White Rose Book Café, Thirsk 0271
  • High Parks Tearoom, Newton-Le-Willows, Bedale 0272
  • Stamps Coffee Shop, Great Ayton 0273

Local Product of the Year, sponsored by TWC Group

  • Masons Yorkshire Gin, Bedale 0274
  • Winnie’s Yorkshire Delights, Thirsk 0275
  • Nobias Catering, Stokesley 0276
  • The Pantry, Thirsk 0277

Specialist Retailer of the Year, sponsored by Bronte Liqueur

  • Lewis and Cooper, Northallerton 0278
  • R Campbell & Sons, Leyburn 0279
  • Born & Bred, Thirsk 0280
  • Neeps & Tatties, Richmond 0281
  • Farm Shop of the Year, sponsored by Shepherds Purse Artisan Cheeses
  • Lister’s Farm Shop, Boroughbridge 0282
  • Berry’s Farm Shop & Café, Swinithwaite, Leyburn 0283
  • Springhouse Farm Shop, Scruton, near Bedale 0284

Pub Food of the Year, sponsored by Hambleton District Council

  • The Bay Horse, Hutton Rudby 0285
  • The Carpenters Arms, Felixkirk, Thirsk 0286
  • The White Swan, Ampleforth 0287
  • The Bay Tree, Stillington 0288

Restaurant of the Year, sponsored by Yorebridge House Hotel

  • Black Bull Inn, Moulton, Richmond 0289
  • Rascills Restaurant, Raskelf, near Easingwold 0290
  • Joplins Restaurant, Great Ayton 0291
  • The Fairfax Arms, Gilling East,near Helmsley 0292

Independent Butcher of the Year, sponsored by The Barker Partnership

  • A.V. Fawcett & Sons, Ingelby Greenhow, Great Ayton 0293
  • Johnson’s of Thirsk, Thirsk 0294
  • Hall’s Family Butchers, Leyburn 0295
  • H. Lee & Sons, Thirsk 0296

Café/Restaurant of the Year at a Visitor Attraction, sponsored by Brymor Ice Cream

  • Wensleydale Creamery, Hawes 0297
  • The Firebox Café@Stage 1 Cycles, Hawes 0298
  • Jervaulx Abbey Tearooms, Ripon 0299
  • Upstairs at Institution, Wensleydale Railway 0300

Customer Service Team of the Year, sponsored by Grand Central

  • Mocha, Richmond 0301
  • Yorks of Thirsk, Thirsk 0302
  • The Old Barn Coffee Shop, Balk, Thirsk 0303
  • The Buck Inn, Thornton Watlass, Ripon 0304

Locally Produced Beer of the Year, sponsored byNick Stafford’s Hambleton Ales

  • Wensleydale Brewery, Bellerby, Leyburn 0305
  • Pennine Brewing Co, Well, near Masham 0306
  • Treboom Brewery, Shipton-by-Benibgbrough 0307
  • Richmond Brewing Ltd. Richmond 0308

Young Professional Chef of the Year, sponsored by North Yorkshire County Council

  • Josh Murray, The George at Wath, Ripon 0309
  • Charlotte Croser, The Golden Fleece, Thirsk 0310
  • Owen Gourdon, Solberge Hall Hotel, Newby Wiske, Northallerton 0311


Terms and conditions: Calls cost 51p Per Call from a BT Landline. Calls from mobiles and some other networks may cost more. Texts cost 50p plus your normal operator text charge. Telephone and text lines open 28/09/2017 and close 24/11/2017 at 23:59:59PM. Call 0207 998 0549 for help and advice on phone and mobile services.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.